Connect with us


The Mallorca Superyacht Cup Gets Underway in June




The Mallorca Superyacht Cup Gets Underway in June

Whether you’re a keen sailor, have a love for the Mediterranean or are simply looking for a holiday with a difference, then you might be interested to take in the action at the Mallorca Superyacht Cup which is going to be taking place in June 2019.

As Europes longest running superyacht regatta, this four-day event in Palma de Mallorca always attracts race-goers, fans and holiday goers alike and it is set to do so once again as the 23rd edition approaches. The event runs from the 19th to 22nd of June and many are predicting to be one of the best in recent years with there being high levels of interest already.

This regatta has always been able to attract the worlds best yachts, skippers and crews and we can confirm that as of the turn of the year, there were already 14 yachts that had expressed an interest in this year’s regatta. Among those are many that took part last year while there will also be some fresh faces on the scene as well.

Veshelda, the big winner last year is returning but they will again have to face the Mari Cha III which finished as runner up. As for some new yachts experiencing this event for the first time, there will be the Huckleberry and Kealoha.

Can they make a mark against some of the more experienced yachts and crews? Part of the entertainment at the Mallorca Superyacht Club is finding that out.

What to Expect at the Mallorca Superyacht Cup

There are three races in total over the four days with each race allowing a different class of yacht to take part.  As mentioned above, those races are already garnering a lot of interest and this could mean that the 2019 Mallorca Superyacht Cup is going to be one of the most keenly contested in recent years.

This event is not all about the racing either as there are parties, happy hours, dinners and plenty of other special events to enjoy in between the racing action. The racing takes place on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday but a welcome cocktail party on Wednesday evening is what will signal the start of the event as a whole.

Regatta village is where you will be able to enjoy activities such as a paddleboard challenge, a dock party and a daily happy hour. You can meet and enjoy the company of crew members or other spectators that are there for both the entertainment and the spectacle that this event always throws up.

Of course, even if you’re not the biggest sailing fan, Mallorca itself is a beautiful country with a sublime climate, so we’re sure you will be able to fill your days with other activities in the area. You will have plenty of glorious beaches, a lively nightlife, and some traditional pleasures to enjoy in the country, a popular tourist destination for many Europeans.

If you are a fan of sailing, then check out the many opportunities on the island that allow people to sail via a private Mallorca Yacht charter.

Michelle has been a part of the journey ever since Bigtime Daily started. As a strong learner and passionate writer, she contributes her editing skills for the news agency. She also jots down intellectual pieces from categories such as science and health.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Aaron Rodgers Signs $150m Contract as Green Bay Packers Retain Star Quarterback




If you are a Green Bay Packers fan, then the news that Aaron Rodgers has pledged himself to the Lambeau Field franchise for another three years will be music to your ears. The veteran quarterback has completed back-to-back NFL MVP award-winning seasons, and many may have feared that another offseason filled with ‘will-he, won’t he’ rumors were on the cards, but that’s now been neatly avoided.

38-year-old Rodgers has put pen to paper on a deal that will net him a massive $150m and makes him the best-paid player in the league. His first year will amount to $41m, the second is worth $59, and his third will work out at $49m. That may seem like a hefty sum, but Rodgers reportedly actually turned down a higher amount, knowing that doing so would free up money to improve the deals of other players (and possible newcomers to the Packers ranks).

The retention of Rodgers will, of course, offer a massive boost to Matt LaFleur’s team’s push for a Super Bowl title, and if you take a look at any odds comparison site, you’ll see that Green Bay are now at around the (+1100) mark, meaning that only the Buffalo Bills, the Kansas City Chiefs and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers are ahead of them in the betting.

Rodgers has been in superb form over the past few seasons, showing that age hasn’t caught up with him, and there is certainly plenty more left in the tank. Next season will be his 18th with the Packers, and he has led his team to the playoffs in each of the past three campaigns. 

During that period, the Packers have a 39-6 record in regular-season action, which is a frightening level of consistency, and keeping such a hugely talented player at the team is something that has been widely applauded.

Green Bay general manager Brian Gutekunst remarked;

“We are very pleased to be able to come to an agreement with Aaron that keeps him in Green Bay,”

“His play on the field and leadership in our locker room remain vital in our pursuit of another Super Bowl title. The agreement also allows us to maintain and enhance what we feel is already a very competitive roster.”

The new deal for Rodgers has left back-up QB Jordan Love considering his options, and one imagines he may look to leave Green Bay in order to find game time elsewhere. 

On that point, comments from LaFleur suggest that they may not stand in his way, should he indeed look to find a new team;

“Jordan’s come a long way,” 

“I still think, with any young player that hasn’t gotten maybe the experience up to this point, there’s still a lot of room for growth. So I think it’s going to be an important offseason, that when he does come back, it’s making sure that his footwork is sharp, that he’s on the details of what we’re trying to accomplish on each and every play and all the concepts, really a mastery of the offense, and just the command that he has. I know he takes that to heart, and he takes it very personally, and he’ll do whatever he can to be his best.”

One thing is for sure. Trying to force your way from behind the shadow of such an accomplished player, such as Aaron Rodgers, isn’t something that can be easily achieved. Hence the likely need to move on rather than sit on the sidelines for another three years.

Continue Reading